Here I Am Again

Oh hey. I haven’t blogged in a really long time. The whole wedding-planning and getting-married and honeymooning process kind of took over my life for a while, and it was so, so worth it.

Click on this picture to see MORE pictures. Our photographer was so great.

Click on this picture to see MORE pictures. Our photographer was so great.

My primary concern going into the wedding was: “How can this single day possibly live up to our expectations when we’ve spent nearly a year and a half building it up in our heads?” (And assembling favors for it and designing programs for it and writing checks for it and handling the billion other tasks you must handle when planning a party for 130 people.)

And then the wedding day was perfect. The amount of love and positivity our friends and family brought for us was overwhelming. And there was Yuengling, pie, and so, so, so much dancing. (Which is exactly what we wanted.) The most catastrophic thing that happened was the zipper on Paul’s tuxedo pants breaking during the reception. (Ha.) And I, being an extremely prepared person/runner, had a few safety pins in my purse, so no wardrobe malfunctions.

And then the honeymoon—in Bermuda!—was perfect. And so far, being married has been perfect. (Which might have something to do with the fact that we’ve spent more than half our married days to date lounging on pink-sand beaches, but you know.)

Dinner on the beach. Yes, please.

Dinner on the beach. Yes, please.

I am so glad I let myself take it easy running-wise these past few months. Planning a wedding takes a lot of time. (Unless you’re the kind of person who has a “meh, it’ll all come together somehow” attitude. I got the impression from our vendors that most people aren’t as detail-oriented/anal as I am.) If I had to worry about completing hard workouts on top of everything else, I would have been miserable. And running is supposed to make you less miserable!

Now that we’re back in Pennsylvania, I’m feeling ready to start Training (with a capital “T”) again, but that’s a topic for another post.

About Meghan Loftus

http://meghanloftus.com/
This entry was posted in Not About Running and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Here I Am Again

  1. Tina Muir says:

    Hi Meghan, tried to find an email for you, but can’t, so hopefully you do not mind me writing this as a comment 🙂

    My name is Tina Muir, and I am an elite runner for Saucony, who also works for Runners Connect.

    How are you feeling about this weekend? This is the scary time! I ran Chicago last year, and I just wanted it to be here!!

    I just wanted to send you a few things to do during this week. Firstly, this ultimate Chicago Marathon Guide http://runnersconnect.net/running-interviews/carey-pinkowski/ I used it last year, and it was SO helpful, I actually read it on the drive to Chicago (before I worked for Runners Connect), and it made me feel much better. This podcast episode with Carey Pinkowski is also very helpful as he gives advice of what to expect http://runnersconnect.net/running-interviews/carey-pinkowski/

    I know how much better I felt after knowing more about the secrets of the race, so helping others too 🙂

    Best of luck!

    • Meghan Loftus says:

      Thanks, Tina! I’m actually feeling pretty good — I didn’t work nearly as hard as I did for my goal race last year, which takes some pressure off. I’m just hoping to run a smart race! Time/pace will be the result, while perceived effort will be what determines how fast or slow I run at any given time.

      Thanks for the links. I actually found this Runners Connect article already, and found it helpful: http://runnersconnect.net/running-training-articles/5931chicago-marathon-race-guide/

      Especially the part that 1. warns it’s pretty quiet from the midpoint until about mile 21 and 2. this part:
      Your body can store enough fuel to run about 2 hours at marathon pace. This means you’ll need to take on a lot of extra carbohydrates during you run. Unfortunately, your body has a difficult time digesting the carbohydrates you take in while running. The best way to combat this unfortunate bodily function (besides practicing taking gels and fluids in practice) is to take on carbohydrates in fluids early in the race when your body is feeling good and not stressed. If you started the race a little slower, you’ll have a chance to absorb more of the nutrition you take on board.

      This is the story of my life in almost every marathon. I go out at a pace that feels reasonable to my legs and lungs but not my stomach, and then I feel sick when I take in my gels, and then I completely run out of gas. My mantra this time is “protect the stomach!”

      How did Chicago go for you? Do you have any tips?

Leave a Reply

