Race Recap: Rock ‘n’ Roll Arizona Marathon 2015

Surprise! I ran another marathon!

Well, kind of a surprise. I tried not to tell too many people I was doing it but, since I work among runners, I kind of failed.

It went…fine. I wasn’t 100% ready, mentally, to take a crack at another fast marathon. (I still remembered how bad the last one hurt!) I wasn’t particularly stoked to run on this course. My training was just okay. I missed a couple key long runs due to illness. The runs I did, though fine, were kind of sad—it’s hard going from seeing the parks packed with runners in the fall to being the only one out there on the frozen tundra. My heart wasn’t as in it as I wanted it to be.

And I ran a 3:38:46. Fine! It’s a fine time. I’m happy with it, and with how I raced. I went out as planned (at 3:35 pace). After 10 miles or so, my legs were voicing their displeasure with the flat, flat, SO flat course, and I thought, “Not happening today. Finish as fast as you can.” So, that’s what I did. It felt less bad than Wineglass, because I’d slept and my stomach was not as angry. So, good.

And now for some other notes on the race:

I ran in a sports bra. First time ever doing that. I felt kind of nood at first but was much more comfortable during the last 10K than I otherwise would have been.

10933818_10102104689003216_490299090411790704_n

Race photogs, capturing me at my finest, as usual.

The heat was kind of bad but not really that bad. The end was really sunny and exposed and probably in the low 70s, but the first 20 miles, I was pretty comfortable. The lack of humidity makes a big difference! As does dumping lots of water on your head.

No more flat marathons for me, thx. Between this and Disney, I can say with authority that my legs don’t like nonstop flat. Especially when they’ve not trained on it. (And I can’t around here. Hills everywhere.) Chicago has moved from my “let’s do this soon!” list to the “maybe I never want to run that one” list.

On Rock ‘n’ Rolls. I’d never run an RnR race before this one and wasn’t sure what to expect. The verdict? It was fine. I can’t speak for all races in the series, but this one had plenty of water stops, ample entertainment (as promised), and an adequate amount of stuff in the postrace area. (Including The Wallflowers, who performed at the finish festival and are apparently still a band.) I wouldn’t go out of my way to run another one of their races, but I wouldn’t not sign up for a race just because it’s an RnR, either.

^Heard as I was rehydrating and looking for Paul. It’s no “One Headlight,” but I’ll take it.

About Meghan Loftus

http://meghanloftus.com/
This entry was posted in About Running and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Race Recap: Rock ‘n’ Roll Arizona Marathon 2015

  1. Heather says:

    Nice job! Even if you weren’t 100% feeling this one, you still ended up with a solid time and an escape from the cold. I’m starting to feel the same way about flat courses myself … which is a shame because I was loosely planning on Chicago this fall.

    Totally agree about RnR as well; can’t say I’d go out of my way to run a race *because* it was RnR, but also don’t understand the vitriol surrounding their events in some circles of the running community.

    • Meghan Loftus says:

      I kind of get the vitriol when RnR buys up a much-loved, locally-run event and makes it just another RnR. But they haven’t bought any of my fave races yet. If, for example, the Mountain Goat 10-Miler ever becomes the RnR Syracuse 10-Miler, then I may have some problems. 🙂

Leave a Reply

