And This Is Why You Should Keep a Training Log

I did a comparison tonight of my weekly mileage totals leading up to Marine Corps (my current PR marathon) and the equivalent weekly mileages leading up to Wineglass (which I’m running Sunday).

photoI averaged almost 10 more miles per week this time around. That has to count for something, right?

I also took a highlighter to my current training log to highlight all the quality workouts I did this time around. (A brilliant tip c/o masters’ half-marathon world record holder Deena Kastor, who I got to meet at work the day after she set the record, but that’s a different story.) I did quite a few! Some doozies! Some workouts that I remembered being tough, but reading about them, I said, “Wow! I can’t believe I did that!”

I feel prepared and excited to race. This is very unlike me. Usually, I am filled with dread. Getting a coach was worthwhile if only for this feeling.

About Meghan Loftus

http://meghanloftus.com/
This entry was posted in About Running and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to And This Is Why You Should Keep a Training Log

  1. Dan Button says:

    That tip from Deena is great! Sounds like you have more quantity and quality mileage in this time around, good luck at Wineglass!

    • Meghan Loftus says:

      Thank you! Lookin’ like perfect weather too–nice and chilly! I am ready and stoked to race. Hopefully my body cooperates.

Leave a Reply

