Race Recap: Dine and Dash Burgers and Trail Race 2014

Yesterday, for the first time in my 12-year history of running, I was the female overall winner of a race.

10641201_10152231390547167_4253752969735972724_n

Yes, I ran the race in my hot dog costume. (There was also a costume award–which I wasn’t eligible for after winning the other prize–and I wanted to make sure I won something. I wanted one of these commemorative plates!)

And the race wasn’t only about fast running. It was also about fast eating. (Which I learned I’m actually pretty terrible at.)

The race was the Dine & Dash Burgers & Trail Race in Hamburg, Pennsylvania. It’s part of the town’s annual hamburger festival. How it works is: You eat a burger, then run a mile, then eat another burger, then run another mile. When I told my coach I was doing this, she said, “Sounds miserable.” I often run shortly after eating eggs and toast, so I wasn’t too worried about stomach problems.

What I should have been worried about, though, and what I should have trained better for, was the speed-eating portion.

There were 32 people in the race, and I was the second to last person to finish the first burger. Second! To! Last!

Luckily, I was able to quickly gain some ground on the first run segment, despite my hot dog costume, which was not terribly breathable or aerodynamic.

Ladies be like, "Ugh. I just got passed by a hot dog."

Ladies be like, “Ugh. I just got passed by a hot dog.”

My second burger went down a bit more smoothly despite the fact that it was at least 25% larger than the first one. I learned that you need to use the water to wash down hunks of burger that may not be as chewed as you’d like them to be. And then, I was given some beads (how they tell at the finish that you completed your second burger) and was headed back home.

10580096_10152231374572167_2021525783050857388_n

My time of 19:52.6 was good enough for first female. (No idea how that breaks down in terms of burger-eating time versus running time.) But, I will admit that it was not good enough to beat Paul, who totally smoked me at this race.

Hurting. But he said this race was better than the Philly Marathon, so!

Hurting. But he said this race was better than the Philly Marathon, so!

This was a fun little race that I wouldn’t be opposed to doing again. For $25, I got two burgers, a sweet T-shirt (see below), and an awesome plate that I will be displaying proudly in my office (see below the below). And, I learned that my hot dog costume isn’t so restrictive that I can’t run freely in it, but that I should probably save it for cold-weather races.

Tie dye! The front has a fake comic book cover (the festival's theme was Superheroes) with the Hamburg movie theater showing "The Dark Cow Rises." The back has the race logo, a determined-looking running hamburger.

Tie dye! The front has a fake comic book cover (the festival’s theme was Superheroes) with the Hamburg movie theater showing “The Dark Cow Rises.” The back has the race logo, a determined-looking running hamburger.

I shall cherish this award forever. My first overall win!

I shall cherish this award forever. My first overall win!

For more photos, see the event sponsor’s Facebook page.

 

About Meghan Loftus

http://meghanloftus.com/
This entry was posted in About Running. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Race Recap: Dine and Dash Burgers and Trail Race 2014

  1. “Ladies be like, ‘Ugh. I just got passed by a hot dog.'”

    Best photo + photo caption ever?

  2. Jom Morrisey says:

    In Brooklyn, we put all sorts of toppings on our hot dogs.

  3. Elaine Cook says:

    Hey, Meghan, we at Blue Mountain Wildlife want to invite you and your friends to join us at the 2015 Dine and Dash Burgers and Trail Race. http://www.bluemountainwildlifestore.com/dine-dash-1/dine-dash-burgers-trail-race-registration
    Fun times, great food in Hamburg, PA on September 5th!

    • Meghan Loftus says:

      Thanks for the invite, Elaine! My husband and I had a blast last year. I’m debating returning because September 5th is my birthday, and I don’t know if I feel like having a stomachache that day. 🙂

Leave a Reply

