Weekly Training Recap: 12/2/13 – 12/8/13

The coach says to give myself a mental break until I start working with her officially in the middle of the month, so that’s what I’m trying to do. (Trying. Sometimes failing.)

Monday, 12/2 – 5.1 miles, hard-ish? (8:19 avg. pace)
Lunch: I started fast because I was cold and kept going as much as I could. I definitely slowed toward the end. The cold air made my lungs feel bad. This is the run I hope I look back on in a year and say, “Psh, that pace felt so hard then, and now, it is easy!” I feel very far from the runner who kept 7:31 pace for an entire half-marathon. I feel simultaneously burnt out and eager to get working hard again. Sigh. On a positive note, my hip felt good.

Tuesday, 12/3 – 30 minutes strength training
Lunch: Focused on balance/stability stuff, with a little bit of core. Also did some box jumps, including single-leg ones, which were SO HARD. They should not be SO HARD.

Wednesday, 12/4 – 4.6 miles, trails (uhhh 11:29 avg. pace)
AM: I started closer to the trailhead and explored another loop. Despite my fear of falling, bears, snakes, hunters, and axe murderers, I mostly kept my composure. This is good training for my stability problems, right? And good hill training, even though I am barely running at times due to rocks/roots/general steepness? (A coworker recently described these trails as “not that technical.” I don’t think I could handle “technical.”)

Screen Shot 2013-12-04 at 10.42.04 AM

Thursday, 12/5 – 3.5 miles + 30 minutes strength training
Lunch: My right hip was being weird. (Surprise!) I did lots of stability stuff, again.

Friday, 12/6 – rest

Saturday, 12/7 – 7.3 miles + full hip PT exercises
AM: Sigh. I meant to run 10 miles. I wanted to run 10 miles. My right hip did not want to run 10 miles. My right hip was happy with about four miles. And then it got mad. I did the smart thing and hobbled home early, then burst into tears. This hip has been bugging me on and off for over a year now. I’ve had it!*

Sunday, 12/8 – 3 miles + full hip PT exercises
AM: The hip felt fine, but I did not ask it to run 10 miles…

Total: 23.5 miles

*More on my hip issues — riveting, I know — coming soon…

About Meghan Loftus

http://meghanloftus.com/
This entry was posted in About Running and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Weekly Training Recap: 12/2/13 – 12/8/13

  1. Great week! I hope your hip behaves itself this week for you 🙂

Leave a Reply

