Yo, Bronchitis: Leave My Lungs and Never Come Back

So, I have bronchitis, again. I had it after Hartford in 2011—it likely had taken root right before the race—and it lasted a little under two weeks.

Well, I noticed my first symptoms (wheezing) two weeks ago, and this stupid illness is still hanging on. It seems to be getting worse instead of better.

I haven’t run in a week. I lost my Foursquare mayorship at the pool (tragedy!), and I had to cancel two swim lessons I had lined up. I went to the gym to use the elliptical yesterday, and if I accelerated enough to sweat, I started coughing all over the machine.

On Monday, a coworker told me, “You sound horrible.” Yesterday, I noticed the coughing muscles in my back were getting sore. Today, Paul strongly encouraged me to go back to the doctor after I nearly coughed myself into unconsciousness.

The doctor gave me antibiotics, because apparently, if bronchitis lasts this long, it’s likely bacterial. These warnings made me feel really optimistic:

Screen Shot 2013-05-15 at 1.40.37 PM

I’m trying not to lament the fitness I’m surely losing, and to look on the bright side:

I’m lucky that this happened when I’m not really training for anything. I’m lucky I didn’t sign up to run last Sunday’s Delaware Marathon “easy” with Lauren, because I’m not sure I could finish on these lungs. I’m lucky I bought the generic grocery-store cough syrup, because it knocks me out hard and tastes good enough that I’m kind of starting to enjoy it.

Seriously, though: Why has this happened to me twice in less than two years? Do I have feeble lungs that crumple in the face of adversity, or am I just hanging out in too many germ-infested environments? And more importantly, how can I make this never happen to me again?

About Meghan Loftus

http://meghanloftus.com/
This entry was posted in About Running. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Yo, Bronchitis: Leave My Lungs and Never Come Back

  1. Ah! I hear ya, Meghan. Someone at work suggested that I may have chronic bronchitis. If this is true, then I might cry. Seriously though, I think that this sickness I have has been lingering inside of me for the past 4 months. No bueno

    • Meghan Loftus says:

      Eeeeeesh. They do say chronic bronchitis can be caused by air pollution, which, well, you live in the city. I hope it’s not that! I don’t even know how they treat that.

  2. Megan Powers says:

    Knowing almost nothing about your medical history, or even about medicine in general, I still feel compelled to guess that you have some underlying asthma/allergy issues that you aren’t hitting aggressively enough. I hope you feel better soon!

    • Meghan Loftus says:

      That’s what I think too. I’m adopted, but one of the few things I do know is that my birth mother had asthma. My mom has always been surprised I can run as well as I can, given that. I should probably examine this further, when I’m not having problems!

Leave a Reply

