Jalapeño cornbread for all!

Today, the art department at work organized a Leap Day Potluck. I’d never been one to participate in their potlucks (aside from eating things other people prepared) but I recently obtained a new cookbook with some recipes I’ve been eager to try.

That book, The Lodge Cast Iron Cookbook, contains an entire chapter of cornbread recipes. An entire chapter! The photo for the Cornbread Supreme with Shrimp recipe caught my eye first–it’s topped with bacon!–but I figured the shrimp could be a potluck food-safety hazard. Instead, I made this:

Mrs. Loyd’s Mexican Cornbread (from The Lodge Cast Iron Cookbook)

1 1/4 cups self-rising cornmeal mix (I used a box of Jiffy Corn Muffin Mix)
1/2 tsp salt
3/4 cup milk
1/3 cup canola oil (I used vegetable oil)
1 8 1/4 oz can creamed corn
3/4 cup shredded cheddar
1 medium onion, finely chopped
1/2 green bell pepper, seeded and diced
2 small hot chiles, seeded and diced (I used serranos–jalapeño is just more fun to say)

1. Preheat the oven to 400°F. Grease (I used butter–mmm) a 10 1/2 inch square cast iron skillet. (Mine is 10 inches and round. Still worked fine.)
2. Combine all the ingredients in a large bowl until well blended. Pour the batter into the greased skillet and cook on the bottom rack until browned, about 30 minutes. (Mine took a smidge longer. Keep an eye on it.) Makes 8 large slices.

I loathe the word “moist,” but it’s the first adjective that comes to mind when you’re eating this. It’s got a little kick, but it’s not too overpowering. It went nicely with the chicken tacos my coworker brought in, and it made me nostalgic for Alto Cinco, the best Mexican restaurant in Syracuse, which serves jalapeño cornbread with all its burritos.

Next on my to-make list: the Cornbread Supreme with Shrimp. I’ll just have to make that when I can eat it all up right away.

About Meghan Loftus

http://meghanloftus.com/
This entry was posted in Not About Running and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Jalapeño cornbread for all!

  1. rantingchef says:

    Sounds great! I’ll have to try it.

Leave a Reply

