Sandwiches: The perfect food?

A while ago, Paul asked me what foods I never, ever get tired of eating. My answer: pizza and sandwiches. Both are so customizable! With pizza, different toppings, different crust types and thicknesses, different sauces, and with sandwiches, different meats, cheeses, breads, veggies, spreads…the possibilities are endless!

And this week, he made me a different sandwich for lunch every day of the week. (Seriously. Most awesome thing anyone’s ever done for me. /gushing)

Here are some photos from Sandwich Week. (This is incomplete because I wolfed some of them down before I could take a picture.)

On Sunday, we made these, and I learned that mortadella is basically bologna with even more fat in it. Yes, please.

Monday’s lobster roll. I boiled him myself.

Wednesday: Philly inspired ham and cheese “zep” with hoagie spread. Probably my favorite one, due to the huge quantities of meat and cheese.

Yesterday: Fig, camembert cheese, and parma ham on flatbread. The fanciest/most experimental one. Camembert is a little potent for me, I learned.

Today’s sandwich, fresh mozzarella with basil and tomato, was the simplest one but also one of my favorites. I’m looking forward to making this several times a week once tomato season rolls around.

About Meghan Loftus

http://meghanloftus.com/
This entry was posted in Not About Running and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sandwiches: The perfect food?

  1. Jill says:

    I agree, sandwiches are a perfect meal. I am such a huge bread lover but sometimes all of that bread is a bit too much for me. I think I’m a bigger pizza lover though. I mean, how can you NOT love pizza, right?

    • mgloftus says:

      Yeah, I love bread, but I need to love it a little less, I think. It doesn’t exactly help me stay at “racing weight.” Alas!

Leave a Reply

