“Begin each day as if it were on purpose”

That right there is one of my favorite quotes of all time. (I even put it in my Facebook profile! WHOA.) It seems to be taken from the title of this Mary Anne Radmacher book, but I heard it in the classic Will Smith rom-com Hitch.

(Here’s where I’d insert the Hitch poster lifted from Google Images, but as I’m trying to get away from using potentially copyrighted visuals on my blog, I won’t.)

I fancy myself a morning person. Breakfast is my favorite meal. I’ve done the bulk of the mid-week training for most of the marathons and halfs I’ve run before work. And I have trouble sleeping past 9 a.m., even on weekends when I’ve been up and about until 3 or 4.

Lately, though, I’ve been struggling. I discovered the beauty of the lunch run–it breaks up the day! it’s warmer! it’s lighter out!–and now I can’t get up to run to save my life. In fact, I can’t get up to do anything at all.

My alarm will go off at 7:15 and I’ll snooze three or four times before emerging from the covers. I’ll make myself some coffee and breakfast, then I’ll sit at the table long after both are gone, reading a magazine or browsing the interwebs. Some days, it’s 8:45 before I start getting ready to actually leave. How did I become such a blob?

When I start the day this way, it tends to continue in a downward spiral of feeling sluggish and not terribly productive. I know it’s not possible for every day to be a tremendous win, but these kinds of days are huge losses.

I need to get my morning mojo back. But how?

About Meghan Loftus

http://meghanloftus.com/
This entry was posted in About Running and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to “Begin each day as if it were on purpose”

  1. I like that quote too! 🙂

  2. BrookTW says:

    I’ve been having similar issues with getting my morning workout out in. My bed is just SOOO comfy, especially during the winter. Once each week, however, I have a morning running partner and knowing that he’s going to be waiting for me on the corner at 6:20 is a huge motivator. I’m hoping that as we get closer to racing season, I can convince him to do 2-3 mornings/week so I can do my runs in the morning and swim at lunch. Good luck!

    • mgloftus says:

      I’m sure it’ll be easier once it isn’t SO DARK even at 7 am! I did manage to get up to run this morning but it was awfully gloomy. At least we are on our way out of the dark months.

  3. MyOwnPace says:

    Hats off to you for being a morning person! I am the complete opposite! However, today was the first day I made myself get up out of bed at 5AM to run an easy 3 miles before work at 8. I have to admit, I felt great post run, but I’m on my second cup of coffee at 15 after 8 and am predicting crashing around 1 🙂 How do you keep yourself energized throughout the afternoon when waking so early??

    • mgloftus says:

      Dang, 5 am! I never get up quite that early to run, even in the summer. (6:30 is usually my earliest start, but I can get to work as late as 9:30 or so.) I find that taking a quick walk outside helps wake me up, usually. Coffee just gives me the jitters.

Leave a Reply

