Of boyfriends and burgers

Once upon a time, I went out to dinner with a group for a friend’s birthday. I ordered a burger. When it arrived at the table, it was huge, and it came with fries. I was hungry. I ate all of it.

My boyfriend at the time was sitting next to me. He didn’t say anything then, but months later, he brought it up during an argument. He said something along the lines of, “That was disgusting. You ate so much. Everyone was totally grossed out, including me.”

…!

Last night, I didn’t feel like eating the salmon I had thawed for dinner. Instead, I went to a new take-out place on the Triangle. I ordered a burger topped with “extra bacon,” cheddar, and onion rings. I also wanted a milkshake, so I got one of those, too.

When I got it home and unwrapped it, it was huge. (Duh, Meghan. What did you expect?) I was hungry. I ate all of it, except for some lettuce and soggy bun pieces.

But before I did that, I took a picture.

I could barely fit this in my mouth.

I showed this picture to my current boyfriend later on. He said, “Did you eat all of it?” And I said, “Pretty much, yeah.” And he said, “You have no idea how attractive that is.” And he wasn’t kidding.

Giant burgers: Serving as a barometer of relationship health since 2006.

About Meghan Loftus

http://meghanloftus.com/
This entry was posted in Not About Running and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Of boyfriends and burgers

  1. LOL I totally would have eaten the whole thing too… Glad you got rid of the first guy!

    • mgloftus says:

      In my book, exercising regularly and trying to eat healthy most of the time is a free pass for indulging I’m-starving-and-I-need-a-burger moments. Glad I’m not alone in that sentiment!

  2. Eric says:

    All that burger needs is a fried egg to top it off. And maybe a nice slice of pastrami. Man, I’m hungry!

  3. Pingback: Shut Up and Eat | Remember the H

Leave a Reply

