Working in the cave

When I switched to Runner’s World from my job at Rodale International, that meant a new desk in a new location, albeit right down the hall. My old desk was in an office, my very own office, with a door. My new desk is in a supercube. (Supercube [n.]: A giant cubicle with four desks in one walled-off space.)

I thought I’d lament the loss of privacy, but other than when I have to be on conference calls, it doesn’t really bother me. What does really bother me, however, is how far I am from windows.

Who needs a window when you have a drawing of a shark-dinosaur on the moon and a photo of a cat riding a keyboard through space, amirite?

My office didn’t have a window, but the ones across the hall did, so I could live vicariously through those people. I could see, through their doors and windows, whether it was light outside or dark, sunny or cloudy. Sometimes I could even tell whether it was raining.

My current supercube is in the very middle of the building. If I were to stand on tippy-toes and look over my cube wall, I could see the faint glow of distant windows, but that’s not something I’m wont to do.

I get to work in the morning, when the sun is out. I emerge at 5:30 or 6 p.m. to find total darkness. If I don’t exercise at lunch, my only exposure to natural light happens as I’m rushing to get to work. Recipe for seasonal affective disorder? I think so.

I’m fully intending to work out at lunch more often, but when I don’t, I need to make a point to at least get out into the fresh air for five or 10 minutes. A quick walk around the building should be enough to remind me that it’s not really dark outside all day long, it just seems that way in the supercube.

About Meghan Loftus

http://meghanloftus.com/
This entry was posted in Not About Running and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

