Three potential #RWRunStreak obstacles

So I’ve run at least a mile every day for the last 14 (!) days. A new record for me, for sure. And though I fully intend to keep the streak alive through New Year’s Day, as promised, I see some challenges on the horizon:

1. Snow. We are supposed to get two to four inches of heavy, wet snow overnight. Plus, it’s been raining all day, so that will likely freeze. Conditions will be unsafe for running outside tomorrow morning, but that’s the only time I can go, because…

Really hoping to get one of these stickers tomorrow.

2. I’m donating blood. I always feel like I should when I see the “blood drive” signs all up around work, but I never have. And this year, I finally signed up. I foresee being super woozy for most of the day tomorrow, which is why I need to run before it happens, and hopefully I’ll be okay enough to get a few miles in Friday. I’ll be doing the bare minimum Saturday, because it’s…

3. SantaCon. Another first for 2011. I’ll be catching the 8 a.m. bus to New York City, and I’ll be roaming the streets dressed like an idiot with my friends for most of the day. It should be pretty fun. I just wish I didn’t have to run that morning.

But if I didn’t have to run, I certainly wouldn’t have been running as much as I have the last two weeks. The Holiday Running Streak: a blessing, and a curse.

About Meghan Loftus

http://meghanloftus.com/
This entry was posted in About Running and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Three potential #RWRunStreak obstacles

  1. Barb N says:

    I have been running every day, too. I usually run outside on my lunch hour, but since I’ve been doing some running on my treadmill at home, I’ve become a wuss. It is getting colder and snowier here in MN and I haven’t run outside since last Monday. I’m going to put on my big girl pants and try to run outside at least once a week. My running usually decreases in the winter because of the weather, so I’m glad I’ve made a truce with my treadmill, but I still want to enjoy the fresh air some this winter.

    Good luck tomorrow and Sat. Sometimes it’ hard to fit runs in when life gets crazy busy, in good or bad ways, but I know I’m running more than I would if I hadn’t decided to streak. Maybe you could run twice Friday or Sunday? Have fun! And good luck donating blood. I’m sure you’ll be just fine.

    • mgloftus says:

      Streaking is saving my fitness! I know I’d only be going 3-4 times a week max if I wasn’t.

      It totally didn’t snow here AT ALL overnight. We were supposed to get 2-4 inches. I’m not complaining! Good luck with your outside runs–take them very slow and be careful. Ice is the worst and it likes to hide under snow.

  2. Christine says:

    Can you do your runs on a treadmill for them to count?

    • mgloftus says:

      Yep! They count. I was going to do that this morning had it actually snowed, but it didn’t, which was fortunate.

Leave a Reply

