The three ultimate holiday movies

While I was home for Thanksgiving, Elf was on USA approximately 20 times. And though I love Elf–“I’m sorry I ruined your lives…and crammed 11 cookies in the VCR”–I only half-watched it, and I’m good with that.

I feel the same way about Home Alone (and its sequel), A Christmas Story, and all those televised, animated holiday movies. I wouldn’t object to seeing them at some point between Thanksgiving and Christmas, but I don’t go out of my way to do it, and if I miss them this year, no biggie.

Not so for my three faves. I own these and make a point of watching them every year. These are the only ones I need–sorry, Kevin McAllister.

So clever. Not really.

3. It’s a Wonderful Life. I’m not usually big on old-timey movies, but this one is different. James Stewart has the best old-timey movie voice. Some of the old-timey lines in this movie are too hilarious (ex: “I wish I had a million dollars…hot dog!”). And the message–“No man is a failure who has friends”–is a good one. Additionally, Bedford Falls is based on Seneca Falls, a town near Syracuse that I got to visit several Decembers ago. I pretended to jump off the bridge that inspired the bridge George Bailey jumps off of in the movie, because I am a nerd.

2. Love Actually. Liam Neeson is in this, so I don’t really need any other reasons to watch this movie every year. But hot-guy Karl from the office party is another plus. (Though I will never look at him the same way now that I know he played Xerxes in 300.) Also, the scene with the big notecards is probably the best scene in any movie, ever.

I die.

1. A Muppet Christmas Carol. Anyone who knows me well knows that I am a huge fan of the Muppets. (Side note: Who wants to go see the new movie?) And while I don’t normally like “musicals,” the songs in this movie can’t be beat. (Except for the one Scrooge’s ex-girlfriend sings. I fast-forward that every year.) For your listening enjoyment, “It Feels Like Christmas:”

About Meghan Loftus

http://meghanloftus.com/
This entry was posted in Not About Running and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

