Celebrities I most hope to encounter at the NYC Marathon

So, the New York City Marathon is on Sunday, and I will be in New York tomorrow, then Friday through Monday, to cover it. I likely won’t have much time to post here in the next several days, but if you just can’t get enough of my writing, look here. (I’ll probably be writing some stuff.)

As a pre-marathon send-off, here are the three non-elite-runner celebrities I most hope to spot:

One of my favorite TV characters, ever.

1. Michael K. Williams: The Wire is one of the greatest shows of all time, and Omar Little is one of the greatest characters. The actor who plays him is running New York, and even though I know he’s not really Omar, I might be a little bit scared if I do see him. He was just that convincing on the show!

I hope he runs in a Buddy Band.

2. Mario Lopez: A.C. Slater. ‘Nuff said.

3. Apolo Ohno…I guess:  I’m not a super-fan or anything, but I felt like I needed more than two people on my list, and he’s the next most exciting person who will be running. (Here’s a complete non-elite preview, if you’re interested.)

I have nothing else to add. I hope I survive covering my first major marathon! See you on the other side.

P.S. In case you were counting…

Happy birthday, blog! We've come a long way.

About Meghan Loftus

http://meghanloftus.com/
This entry was posted in About Running and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Celebrities I most hope to encounter at the NYC Marathon

  1. Jocelyn says:

    I love The Wire!! I would stalk Omar like it was my job…forget running the marathon. FIND OMAR!

    • mgloftus says:

      I’m actually just covering the marathon, specifically the elite portion of the race which will be over in two hours and change. Plenty of time to stalk Omar!

  2. Rebecca says:

    Did you know: the only thing people in France know about Baltimore (if anything) is Hairspray or The Wire. Unfortunately, I have to tell them that The Wire is not too far off.

  3. Pingback: Celebrity-sighting update! | Remember the H

Leave a Reply

