If this isn’t nice, I don’t know what is

Before I left my apartment Friday evening, I noticed a tweet from @Kurt_Vonnegut (some person who posts a bunch of Vonnegut quotes) that said, “I urge you to please notice when you are happy, and exclaim or murmur or think at some point, ‘If this isn’t nice, I don’t know what is.'”

Well, if this weekend wasn’t nice, I don’t know what is.

Allentown Grub Crawl 2011, Stop #5

I won’t do a moment-by-moment recap, but Friday night, I got some friends to accompany me to this haunted house in an attempt to overcome my crippling haunted-house fear. (Which began when I was six years old, but I’ll save that for another pre-Halloween post.) We ended up at Fuglee’s Pub in Easton, which was exactly how it sounded. They sold microwave popcorn and string cheese to eat, and I have never been anywhere smokier. But, hilarious.

And Saturday I participated in the first (and probably last) West Allentown Grub Crawl. We went to nine restaurants. You had to eat at least one bite at each stop, and if you puked, you had to go home. No one did–though I was close during my Wertz’s burger quarter–and we had a nice day of hanging.

Us: We’d like six Manhattans. Bartender: …seriously?

These are the weekends I’ll miss when we’re all older and we have things like families to stop us from drinking Manhattans at the Paddock at 11:45 a.m. (Well, Manhattans are gross…so I’ll probably never do that again anyway.) And, these are the weekends I’ll miss if I ever end up in New York City. As Paul pointed out, in NYC, going to a bar like Fuglee’s would be “ironic.” Here, it’s just so Lehigh Valley.

This whole weekend was so Lehigh Valley…a place I’ve grown to love.

About Meghan Loftus

http://meghanloftus.com/
This entry was posted in Not About Running and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to If this isn’t nice, I don’t know what is

  1. Please tell me you went to Fuglee’s for the irony. Pearly Baker’s, Porter’s, and Black and Blue are all great for beers and better bar food than string cheese.

    • mgloftus says:

      If we went back, it would be for the irony. We went because we drove past it and were like, “Fuglee’s?!? What kind of bar would be named Fuglee’s?” We only stayed for one drink, which was long enough.

  2. Rebecca says:

    I refuse to ever get old and cranky enough to not have a drink at 11:45. I have to say though, it really does make you want to nap all afternoon.

  3. Pingback: Garbage Bag Man and my fear of haunted houses | Remember the H

Leave a Reply

