Things I need before I can bike more

I have a bike. Anyone who has been to my apartment has seen it, sitting, looking cute, in my entryway. I don’t ride it often. I tried to this morning, farther than I’ve ever ridden it before, and that was a mistake.

Tip: Don’t ride fendered bikes over large gravel. This will happen.

After my fender practically bent in half (I mostly bent it back for the above photo), I had to ride home on the roads instead of the nice, quiet path I initially traveled. And when I managed to make it home in one piece, I decided there are a few things I need to get before I become a big bike-commuter:

1. A helmet. It is stupid to not already have one, I know. But I feel relatively safe on my rides to and from work – the vast majority of my rides thus far – and my bike’s a loaner. The company could ask for it back at any moment and then I’d have a helmet and no bike. (Dumb excuse!) And I know helmets only do so much – if you get really slammed by a car, you’re done, so being alert is your best protection – but still. I’d feel more comfortable with fast cars around me if I were helmeted, cycling snobs who think helmets are lame be damned.

2. A messenger bag. Backpacks = giant sweatstains. Disgusting but true.

3. Stronger lungs and legs OR a lighter bike. The bike I’m using weighs at least 30 pounds. I get overheated just carrying it down the stairs. Going up small hills is nearly impossible, and it’s not like I’m out of shape. I know running and cycling are two different animals, but I never had this many problems riding Christine’s road bike. A nice, light fixie might be just what I need. (And I’d have some hipster cred, too.)

Until these needs are met, I’ll be spending a whole lot of money to buy gas and kill the planet (when I don’t have time to walk places, that is). If any wealthy environmental types would like to furnish me with the above supplies, feel free to comment with your contact info.

About Meghan Loftus

http://meghanloftus.com/
This entry was posted in Not About Running and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Things I need before I can bike more

  1. Christine says:

    Pleeeeease get a helmet! Matt will give you one. Just ask him nicely or bake him cookies or something. A helmet reduces risk of injury in a crash by up to 85%. You may trust yourself, but you can’t trust the motorists around you. [/unsolicitedadvice]

  2. Allison says:

    Are helmets not required in Pennsylvania? In New York I’m pretty sure it’s a law.

    I love the color of your bike 🙂

Leave a Reply

