Thank you, lone customer service representative!

As I mentioned in my previous post, I have been having internet problems at my apartment. I had Service Electric come install it last Monday – no more sharing with Andrew and running off 10% of his internet speed for me! – only to discover my computer wouldn’t connect.

Tonight, after trying again several times, I decided to make the dreaded call to the customer service line. It kicked me back to the main menu a few times before putting me on hold. For a long time. After 15 minutes or so, I started yelling at the phone. “If no one’s there, you should probably tell us that! Jerks!” I said.

Sometime after the 20-minute mark, my savior got on the line. I don’t know his name or what he looks like, but here’s how I see him in my head:

“Uh, uh, uh! You didn’t say the magic word!”

His voice was less nasal and more Southern-accented than Dennis Nedry’s, but I’m sure he was all alone with his computers as depicted above. He must have been the only person working there because it took so long to get someone on the phone.

It was totally worth the wait, though. He could somehow see the problem my modem was having, even though I did not give him my name or contact information. (How did he know who I was? Seriously, though, how?) He ran some kind of update, and boom! I have internet in my apartment.

The blog is back. I know you’re all very excited.

About Meghan Loftus

http://meghanloftus.com/
This entry was posted in Not About Running and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Thank you, lone customer service representative!

  1. Alexis says:

    I bet you called on the same phone number you gave them when you signed up and that’s how they knew who you were.

    Alternate explanation: the long wait time was really just so that the company had time to drive around your neighborhood looking in windows until they saw someone on the phone who looked peeved. That’s how they knew your address.

Leave a Reply

