Post of American Pride

I just returned from Tunkhannock, PA, where I celebrated my second annual Weekend of American Pride at my friend’s parents’ house. They have a pool, a grill, and a whole lot of land (meaning, we could be as loud and obnoxious as we wanted without disturbing any neighbors). I spent my weekend eating, drinking, and dance-partying with my friends.

Much of the crew, in our jorts. Jorts are required attire for the Weekend of American Pride.

Yesterday, we decided to make a list of our favorite things about the United States, inspired by this list from Fortune magazine. (The Kardashians made their list? Seriously?) I don’t remember all the things we came up with, though I do know most of them were foods. But in honor of Independence Day, I figured I’d share part of my own Greatest American Things list on my blog. My top five, in no particular order:

1. Hot fudge sundaes. Just try to get one of these in Europe. I did. I searched Barcelona far and wide for some vanilla ice cream covered in warm chocolate sauce with nuts, whipped cream, and a cherry on top. No beans. (Or rather, no ice cream. They did have gelato everywhere, which was delicious, but not the same.)

2. Women’s rights. I cannot imagine living in a country where I couldn’t vote, wear jorts, and do everything else a man can do. Sure, there’s still work to be done here toward more equal equality, but compared to a lot of other places in the world, we ladies have it really good.

3. Basketball. Winter would be insufferable without the excitement of college basketball season. And as much as it hurts my body, basketball is my favorite ball sport to play. Kudos, James Naismith, inventor of basketball. (He was Canadian-born, but he came up with the game in Massachusetts. Scoring this one for America.)

4. Target. I buy pretty much everything I own from here. And though I’ve heard some things about Target being evil, my brief experience working there in the summer of 2006 was a pleasant one.

5. Our music. From Prince to LCD Soundsystem, the United States is home to a lot of great artists. Based on what I heard in the cabs and clubs of Barcelona, the rest of the world – or at least many Barcelonians – would agree with me.

Obviously, this list is far from comprehensive. I feel like I’m forgetting many important things that should have been in my top five. So now, a shameless plug for comments: What other things are great about America?

This post’s American pride brought to you by my friends Nick and Sue.

About Meghan Loftus

http://meghanloftus.com/
This entry was posted in Not About Running and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

