Life as a “Meghan,” spelled the right way

When my parents chose my name, they decided to spell it the Irish way – with an H. This spelling seems to be less common than Megan without an H, which led to some angst when I was younger. “Why do they only make personalized toothbrushes for Megans without the H?” I whined. “I wish my name were spelled the normal way!”

Now that I am no longer interested in knick-knacks that bear my name, I’ve learned to embrace my extra letter. A Facebook group I found in college really helped with this process. It was called “The H in Meghan Stands for Hott.”

That's "hott" with TWO Ts, thank you very much.

Whoever created the group invited all the Meghans at Syracuse to join. (Those were the days when groups were only open to people in one network, and when groups actually showed up in your profile.) There were only about 30 of us, and the school had 13,000 students. I started to feel like having the H made my name a little more special than it would be without it.

The catchy group title stuck with me, and now, I use it at parties. If I ever meet someone who is having trouble remembering my name, or if I really want to make an impression, I tell them, “I’m Meghan. With an H. And the H in Meghan stands for hott.” No one who has heard this has forgotten my name. Granted, I’ve only used this line with men – something tells me my fellow ladies would not find it as charming – but it works.

I need to come up with a more universal (and professional) way to get people to not only remember my name, but to remember how it is spelled. Few things irk me more than when someone addresses an email to me, “Hi Megan,” mostly because both my email addresses contain my full first name. Until I devise a new line, however, this blog will exist as a perpetual reminder to readers to please remember the H.

About Meghan Loftus

http://meghanloftus.com/
This entry was posted in Not About Running and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Life as a “Meghan,” spelled the right way

  1. Josh Morrisson says:

    TELL ME ABOUT IT. People confuse my name with a famous indie rock god like all the time. Sometimes they even confuse me for a famous indie rock god. UGH!

  2. Barb N says:

    Our daughter is Norah. My husband insisted on the “h” at the end and now that is how Norah should be spelled. She is 4 and it is already happening. My family spells it wrong, even when replying to an e-mail from me where it is spelled correctly. Her Sunday School teachers spell it wrong. She will be correcting people the rest of her life. Oh well. I’ve met other moms who spell it the same way and we pat ourselves on the back together for having such good taste in names! Thanks for the post. Maybe in 20 years, I’ll tell her the “h is for hott!”

    I found your blog through Runner’s World and the Inaugural Holiday Streak. Brilliant idea! You got me to run today when I really didn’t want to. Thank you, thank you!

    • mgloftus says:

      Glad you liked my post! People generally tend to remember the H when you tell them it’s for “hott.” And welcome to the streak–keep it up! I’m already wondering when I’m going to find the time for a mile or two today.

  3. Meghan says:

    I love the title of your blog! 🙂 Meghans with h’s are the best. I found you through the run streak…I’m six days in and going strong!

    • mgloftus says:

      Hooray! Nice work on the run streak, and on spelling your name correctly. It’s hard work, but some of us are able to do it.

Leave a Reply

