“Greatness comes at a price, it always has”

Despite the overwhelmingly positive response I’ve received to yesterday’s post, I’ve decided to switch gears today.

Let’s talk about shoddily-made creature features.

I had never really gone out of my way to watch a particularly bad horror movie until last fall, when I rented The Human Centipede and had some friends over for a viewing. (Expert tip: Don’t watch this movie.) The premise was so hilariously ridiculous, I had to give it a shot. The movie itself was neither hilarious nor ridiculous – just boring and kind of gross. (Could’ve been grosser. I suspect they’re saving that for the sequel.)

However, when my friend Alexis told me about a movie she and her friends had watched on New Year’s Eve, I hit up Netflix once again for a movie I knew could not be good in the conventional sense of the word. The title alone (and the fact that it was made for Syfy) told me all I needed to know. The movie is called Sharktopus.

A few friends and I watched this on Tuesday, and I thoroughly enjoyed it, the way you’re supposed to enjoy a bad movie. Watch the trailer all the way until the end and you’ll see one of the best parts of the whole film. I was hoping Sharktopus would survive so there’d be hope for a sequel, but – spoiler alert – he does not. (He EXPLODES! Of course.)

In this process, we learned about a couple other awesomely-bad-looking shark-related movies out there. Exhibit A: Dinoshark.

My two favorite creatures, together? Sign me up! Exhibit B: Mega Shark vs. Crocosaurus.

I really want to see this one…mostly because I want to experience Jaleel White’s acting outside the context of Steve Urkel (and his handsome alter-ego, Stefan Urquelle).

I don’t know how many of these I can take, but I kind of want to find out. It was a good way to keep me alert before trivia on Tuesday, and now, I know that Lifetime isn’t the only station that makes excellent made-for-TV movies.

About Meghan Loftus

http://meghanloftus.com/
This entry was posted in Not About Running and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to “Greatness comes at a price, it always has”

  1. Alexis says:

    I’m glad Sharktopus was a hit. I should actually legit watch it sometime instead of tune in periodically as it’s on in the background at a party.

Leave a Reply

