2 Legit 2 Quit

I’ve made contact with my Big Sur running buddy, but I have yet to obtain the photos he took. The race recap will have to wait another day.

In the meantime, I’ve registered for another marathon.

The Pocono Marathon is 11 days from now. Yes: two marathons in two weeks. I had this as my GChat status and my friend Paul commented: “2 marathons, 2 weeks, 2 legit 2 quit. That’s what it should be.” I’m adopting this as my theme song for the race.

MC Hammer keeps popping up in my running space. Before the NYC Marathon last fall, my friend Matt sent me an article (that I can’t find now, unfortunately) called “Stop…taper time.” It was about how you have to cut down your food intake during your taper so you don’t get pudgy and slow. (Not my strong suit. I managed to gain 2 pounds of fat during this last training cycle. I blame it entirely on the Snooki.)

“2 Legit 2 Quit” will be a great companion to my regular running mantra, which is possibly not appropriate to publish, but if I decide to do so, it needs its own post. I am unsure how great my legs will feel, and I am trying to qualify for Boston 2012 while the old, easier standards are still in place. And I am writing about this for Runner’s World, so even if I blow up early, I can’t really drop out. (This is the reason I have seemingly lost my mind and decided to try another marathon so soon. Freelance work is good stuff.)

My fate is sealed. Active.com says so.

I talked to Budd Coates, the fitness director at my company and a super-fast dude, about the whole thing. He did acknowledge that it’s a little crazy, but based on my previous half and marathon times, and the fact that I feel good this week, he said a BQ could happen.

I guess we’ll find out, in 11 days. I need to stop blogging now and go to sleep, because apparently it’s taper time…again.

About Meghan Loftus

http://meghanloftus.com/
This entry was posted in About Running and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 2 Legit 2 Quit

  1. BML says:

    Congrats on finishing the Big Sur Marathon! 2Legit 2Quit! That songs a banger!! Gonna have to add that to the Running Playlist!

Leave a Reply

