California calories

I have returned from the West Coast. I don’t want to write the race recap until I have some race pictures to post, which means I need to keep you all in suspense until I hear from the woman I ran the first 8 miles with, the guy I ran the last 18 miles with, and MarathonFoto.

I arrived in San Francisco on Thursday evening thanks to a four-hour thunderstorm delay in Newark. Alexis and I got Mexican food and went out for a beer, but I was not terribly energetic and we headed home pretty early.

Friday was more successful. We had some sightseeing time before we had to pick up Nick at the airport, so we drove down Lombard Street, up to Coit Tower, and to one of the Golden Gate Bridge photo-op points.

I didn’t get one of these cheesy tourist photos when I visited in 2009. Never too late to go back!

The rest of this non-race recap is mostly going to be about what I ate and drank. Once we picked up Nick, we headed to burger. in Santa Cruz. As planned, I got the Snooki, a chili cheeseburger between two grilled cheese sandwiches. Phenomenal! I didn’t feel quite right for the rest of the day, but when the party in your mouth is that out-of-control, you have to expect some kind of hangover.

So! Much! Cheese!

We all went out to a pre-race party that night, followed by dinner at The Crown and Anchor, the most hoppin’ bar in downtown Monterey. Oddly, I was at a table right next to a girl I had a class with in college. I learned she moved to California after graduating and now works at a triathlon magazine. She, too, was in town for the race. Small world!

Saturday began with crepes – I had two of them! – and continued with us hanging around Fisherman’s Wharf, Cannery Row, and the Monterey Bay Aquarium. The otters were the cutest. The jellyfish were the coolest. The video of a seahorse giving birth was the grossest.

I took lots of sweet fotes in the jellyfish room.

That night brought a staff dinner at Little Napoli in Carmel, featuring lasagna, raspberry sorbet, and an appetizer that was actually called “Meatball Lollipops.” We ordered them mostly for the name, but they ended up being quite tasty.

The beginning of a very large, pants-unbuttoning meal.

Sunday, after the race, I enjoyed a Jamba Juice smoothie from the RW Challenge tent, plus some amazingly fresh strawberries and a peanut butter and banana sandwich. Then, it was on to the RW Challenge party, where I feasted upon an epic smores buffet. It even had the option to make your smore with a peanut butter cup – why did I never think of this in my almost 25 years of life? Then, it was on to the Big Sur post-race party, where I ate some sliders to tide me over. (You get pretty hungry after running 26.2 miles.) Then, the moment I had been waiting for all day: a margarita plus clam chowder in a bread bowl.

Double the thumbs-up, double the fun.

Yesterday included a trip to In-N-Out Burger, a requirement when you’re out west. I tried an animal-style cheeseburger – much better than the regular style – plus a Neapolitan shake: a great finale to an excellent, food-filled long weekend.

About Meghan Loftus

http://meghanloftus.com/
This entry was posted in Not About Running and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to California calories

  1. looks like a lot of good eats was going on
    please stop by and say hi
    xoxo
    bB
    http://www.itsybitsybrianna.wordpress.com

  2. Alexis says:

    Ahhh I forgot about the seahorse birth video (which was probably for the best). Everytime I see you out here I feel as though the visit centers around food. I guess there just happen to be some epic places and things to eat here in the wonderful West! I’m finally able to button my pants from this weekend, whew. Anyway, sweet entry. As always, I’m on the edge of my seat over here for the race recap!

  3. Pingback: 2 Legit 2 Quit « Remember the H

  4. Jen says:

    Great to see you Meghan, so weird you were at the table next to us! Good luck with your next marathon and all your culinary adventures. I love food too, and blog about it (when I’m not busy in the triathlon space) at http://www.freshcrackedpepper.com.

Leave a Reply

