Spring fever

I have not blogged – or done anything at all – for the past several days thanks to a lovely fever/sinus-infection combo that started overnight on Friday. I got home late after the Mountain Goats show and slept very poorly. I had a headache Saturday morning, which I blamed on my lack of rest, so I popped some Advil and went about my day. I was about to leave for the Sustain-A-Ball when I started feeling really hot (heat-wise, not sexy-wise, although I was dressed up real fancy). I took my temperature, and sure enough, I had a fever.

Be thankful I did not use a picture of myself. I am a lot less cute when I am sick.

I stayed home, shivering and sweating and sitting on my recliner, until yesterday, when I managed to drag myself to the doctor for some antibiotics. This afternoon, they kicked in. I feel like a human again!

I don’t really mind being single or living far from home until I get sick. I am lucky enough to have several friends who offered to bring me supplies, and to have a mother who offered many times to make the two-hour drive to take care of me. (Thanks, guys! You are all champions.) But still, it is nice to have someone who is there the whole time, if only to have someone to listen to me whine. (Maybe it is better that I am single after all.)

Also, I had forgotten how sucky it is to be sick. I can’t remember the last time I had a fever that lasted longer than a day, and I don’t know that I’ve ever experienced the head-throbbing that came with this sinus infection. (I had to stop watching Best of SNL specials on Netflix instant because laughing made my head feel like it was about to explode.) I burst into tears this morning because the antibiotics hadn’t worked yet and my head hurt SO MUCH and when was this going to end why was this happening to me?

It seems to finally be over. (Knock wood.) I have a busy few days ahead of me – my work email inbox is over its size limit! which doesn’t really say much because we have practically no storage space – but at least I will have my health.

About Meghan Loftus

http://meghanloftus.com/
This entry was posted in Not About Running and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

