Wicked good

My mom and I went to New York City Saturday to see a matinee of Wicked. In general, musicals aren’t my jam. I like some of them, but I don’t see the need for all the singing. People don’t sing their conversations and thoughts in real life. Excessive singing tends to make me uncomfortable, especially if the singing sucks. Luckily, you don’t run into that problem on Broadway.

I chose to get my mom these tickets for Christmas because musicals are her jam, and because this show has some significance to me. The Wicked Witch of the West holds a special place in my heart because – little known fact – I played her in our 7th grade production of The Wizard of Oz.

Embarrassing childhood photo alert!

Yes, before I became the athletic superstar I was in high school, I dreamed of being a theater geek. I took acting classes in the summer and everything. The Witch was my biggest role, and I got great reviews. (By this, I mean I got some compliments from people who were not related to me.) I tried out for a singing part (gasp!) in our 8th grade production of You’re A Good Man, Charlie Brown, but the teacher putting it on left the school before the play was cast.

It all worked out for the best, of course. I never could have cultivated the talent it would take to perform in any kind of real-world theater, and running is a much more sustainable interest. I enjoyed Wicked, and I had a nice day in the city with my mom.

I am thinking about looking into voice lessons, though. These Broadway stars can sing at the top of their lungs every night, and I can’t speak over the noise of a bar without getting man-voice. Do vocal coaches exist for people who just want to learn to talk properly?

About Meghan Loftus

http://meghanloftus.com/
This entry was posted in Not About Running and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Wicked good

  1. Pingback: Me and Glee « Remember the H

  2. Pingback: 2011 in Review | Remember the H

Leave a Reply

